top of page

Quickly: Canada to New Zealand

Toronto to Christchurch was nowhere near as easy as it should have been, and the takeaway is pretty simple: don't use a travel agent. It seemed like a good idea at the time, and Adeline and I saved $700. But they lost our tickets, couldn't attach us to a reservation number, and because we weren't booked through the airline we were forced to make every terrible connection after our flight was canceled. It wasn't ideal, as each check-in took an hour, we got the worst seats on every flight (including the 14hr San Fran to Sydney) and we got our luggage lost at our connection. I admit that we felt pretty lost pretty quickly, but thanks to mutual support, lots of water, and a layover day of physical exercise, we were able to keep our sanity and make it to Christchurch. The bonus is that because it took so long and we arrived to late, we avoided all jet lag.

We did, however, make it. I read Kipling's Kim and looked up some adventurous things to do upon landing. I will say that the trip changed my outlook for sure. Since deplaning I find that my reaction to the new unknowns of this country is more positive. I'm calmer, more ready and accepting of the inevitable alterations to 'the plan'. The hitches on the way mean less to me than previous travel snags, and I'm able to take them in passing without inwardly freaking out. Bring a book, a headlamp, and a raincoat. Attempt to be ready for what you can't control.

"What reinforcement we may gain from hope, if not, what resolution from despair.” -Milton

bottom of page