top of page

First Routes in Christchurch


The approach, charming field. Look out for sheep!

It may have taken a little while, but I'm finally settled in Christchurch and yesterday we went for a climb. The community here is inviting, and I met someone near my house who goes regularly. We went off on a scenic drive through the city, and in twenty minutes we were at the Jane Fonda crag.

This crag was idyllic, if a little bit bold. There's a lot of mixed climbing, so we were forced to employ some nuts, but the rock is really nice and the population (on a Tuesday afternoon) was low. We had the wall to ourselves.

The view from the belay station. An ocean bay.

I'm still getting familiar with the grading system, but it felt good to get out. We were shaded the whole time, so temperatures were good, and there are some intense classics at Jane Fonda. This crag is significantly more run-out than those that I am used to, but the falls are (largely) safe, and the anchors and bolts were far more solid than those I had seen at Castle Hill. It's a dense crag, and the approach is a beautiful walk through tall grass and sheep. Once you're set up, all of the climbs are within twenty feet of you, and it's a great way to cram a bunch of climbs in. Would definitely recommend, though I can safely say it's been a while since I've climbed outdoors, and I didn't do my best work. Later this week we're meeting up again to hit up a sunnier wall. Don't forget your stick-clip!

Scarce from his mould Behemoth biggest born of earth upheaved His vastness- Milton

bottom of page