top of page

First Rocks and Mountains


boulder boulder

Our first excursion from Christchurch was to Castle Hill, a local bouldering mecca. It was stunning and beautiful, but what impressed me most was how close it was to the city. We drove for about an hour and a half through beautiful farmlands and hillsides before arriving at the nicest bouldering area I've ever seen. In Ontario and Kentucky you rarely find soft earth and grass directly below your latest project or warm-up. Here there is no scree or debris, just a smooth limestone boulder and a place for your crashpad. It was miraculous. I attempted to site some sport routes but locals told me the place doesn't have much for it. The routes that I did see were somewhat confusing and crazily bold (re: gear placement) but I will have to return to fully assess.

And so we settled for climbing Avalanche Peak in Arthur's Pass. Another hour down the same road, we stayed the night at an inexpensive campground and left in the morning for a beautiful hike and scramble. The views were breathtaking and the climb itself truly enjoyable. There were many other climbers but the paths weren't crowded, and the weather warmed significantly through the day. I strongly recommend this hike for any beginner mountaineers, or anyone who just wants to see this remarkable beauty. A photo can't capture it, but I tried.

"Native of heaven, for other place none can than Heaven such glorious shape contain"- Milton

bottom of page